Connecting a monitor, charger, and storage can quickly use up the MacBook Air M5’s two USB-C ports. The best USB-C hub for MacBook Air M5 depends on which connections matter most: smooth 4K video, faster data, card readers, pass-through charging, or a compact direct-mount design.

This guide compares five options using their listed features, so you can match the hub to your desk setup or travel routine. Check each port’s specific job: USB-C can mean charging, data, or display output, and not every port does all three.

1
This compact UGREEN 5-in-1 USB-C hub expands connectivity with 4K video output, 100W Power Delivery pass-through, and three USB-A ports for everyday peripherals. It suits mobile laptop users needing external display hookups, but buyers requiring high-speed data across all USB ports should skip it.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports 100W USB-C Power Delivery pass-through
  • Includes 4K HDMI video output
  • Compact and lightweight design under a quarter pound
  • Fast 5 Gbps transfer on primary USB-A port

Cons

  • Two USB-A ports limited to 480 Mbps speeds
  • Skip if you need multiple high-speed data ports
2
Anker 547 USB-C Hub turns dual MacBook ports into seven connections, including 4K 60Hz HDMI, fast 100W charging, and full MagSafe clearance. Hub suits MacBook users needing desktop peripheral access, but base M1, M2, and M3 models cannot drive dual external displays; users needing multi-monitor setups on standard chips should skip it.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Delivers 100W pass-through charging and 40Gbps data
  • Leaves MagSafe charging port completely clear
  • Supports crisp 4K output at 60Hz
  • Lightweight design weighs only 0.12 pounds

Cons

  • Base M1, M2, and M3 MacBooks lack dual-display support
  • Incompatible with MacBook Neo models
  • Skip if needing multi-monitor support on base M-series
3
The Anker 332 USB-C Hub expands a single port into 4K video, USB data, and up to 85W pass-through charging for modern laptops. It suits mobile professionals needing basic desktop expansion, but Linux users and those requiring high-refresh 4K video should skip it.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Up to 85W pass-through laptop charging
  • Compact footprint weighing under two ounces
  • Includes both USB-A and USB-C data ports

Cons

  • HDMI output capped at 30Hz for 4K video
  • Incompatible with Linux operating systems
  • Skip if you need USB-C video output
4
The Melelink 8-in-2 USB-C Hub expands MacBook connectivity with dual-display support, 100W pass-through charging, and diverse USB ports. It suits MacBook users needing desktop peripheral access, but those using protective laptop cases or base M1 chips seeking dual external displays should skip it.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports 4K at 60Hz and 5K video output
  • Simultaneous SD and microSD card reading
  • Pass-through charging delivers up to 85W output

Cons

  • Incompatible with protective bottom MacBook cases
  • Base M1 MacBooks cannot drive dual external displays
  • Incompatible with Apple USB SuperDrive
5
This compact Anker 7-in-1 hub expands modern laptops with reliable 5Gbps connectivity, dual memory card readers, and smooth 4K video output at 60Hz. It suits hybrid professionals who need quick desktop peripherals, but buyers needing multiple display outputs or faster 10Gbps data speeds should skip it.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Smooth 4K video output at 60Hz
  • Up to 85W pass-through laptop charging
  • Three 5Gbps USB data ports
  • Includes both SD and microSD card slots

Cons

  • Wall charger not included for pass-through power
  • USB-C port supports data transfer only, not video
  • Users requiring multiple external monitors should skip it

The Best USB-C Hubs by Use Case

Best for High-Bandwidth Displays: Anker USB-C Hub for MacBook

The Anker USB-C Hub for MacBook suits a desk setup that needs both monitor output and fast connections. Its multi-function USB-C port is listed for up to 5K at 60Hz, up to 40 Gbps data, and up to 100W charging, while HDMI supports 4K at 60Hz. The hub uses both USB-C ports on the MacBook, so its direct-mount layout is most appealing when you want several connections from one compact adapter.

Reasons to buy:
  • Multi-function USB-C supports up to 5K at 60Hz and 40 Gbps data, according to the listing.
  • HDMI supports 4K at 60Hz, useful for a standard external monitor.
  • Includes SD and microSD slots, plus two USB-A data ports.
Reasons to avoid:
  • It occupies both of the MacBook’s USB-C ports, leaving the hub’s own ports for expansion.
  • The listing says it will not work with MacBook Neo, and a bottom shell may prevent the direct-mount fit.

Who should skip it: Choose a cable-style hub if you need to keep one MacBook USB-C port free or use a snap-on bottom case.

Best for Card-Based Workflows: USB C Hub Adapter for MacBook Pro/Air M5 M4 M3 M2

The USB C Hub Adapter for MacBook Pro/Air M5 M4 M3 M2 is a direct-mount option for people who often transfer photos or other files from memory cards. Its listing specifies SD and microSD readers that can be used at the same time, with speeds up to 104 MB/s, alongside HDMI up to 4K at 60Hz and a Thunderbolt 3 port. That Thunderbolt port is listed for 5K at 60Hz, 40 Gbps data, and up to 85W output from a 100W power input.

Reasons to buy:
  • SD and microSD readers can read cards simultaneously, with listed speeds up to 104 MB/s.
  • Thunderbolt 3 port supports listed data rates up to 40 Gbps and display output up to 5K at 60Hz.
  • HDMI supports 4K at 60Hz for a conventional monitor or projector.
Reasons to avoid:
  • The direct-mount adapter will not fit when a bottom case is installed.
  • The listing advises against high-power devices and says the hub supports one hard drive.

Who should skip it: Look at a cable-style model if you use a protective shell or connect several power-hungry accessories.

Best for Smooth 4K HDMI on the Go: Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter

The Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter combines a cable-style connection with a 4K-at-60Hz HDMI output, three 5 Gbps data ports, and SD and TF card slots. That mix makes it a practical fit for presentations, routine file transfers, and importing content from cards without using a direct-mount dock. Its USB-C port is for data only, so connect a display through HDMI.

Reasons to buy:
  • HDMI supports 4K at 60Hz, as specified in the listing.
  • Two USB-A ports and one USB-C data port each support listed speeds up to 5 Gbps.
  • Includes SD and TF card slots and a USB-C PD input for charging.
Reasons to avoid:
  • The USB-C data port does not output video; HDMI is the only listed display connection.
  • The charger is not included, and the listing specifies up to 85W laptop charging pass-through.

Who should skip it: Choose another hub if you need display output through USB-C or want a direct-mount adapter.

Best for Multiple Fast USB Devices: Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter

The Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter prioritizes fast wired accessories over card readers. It has two USB-A ports and one USB-C data port, each listed at up to 5 Gbps, plus an HDMI port and a separate USB-C power input. Its HDMI output is limited to 4K at 30Hz, so it better suits basic display work than buyers who specifically want 4K at 60Hz.

Reasons to buy:
  • Three data ports support listed speeds up to 5 Gbps, useful for compatible storage and peripherals.
  • Pass-through charging supports up to 85W when paired with a suitable charger.
  • Listing states compatibility with macOS 12 and newer, Windows 10 and 11, and ChromeOS.
Reasons to avoid:
  • HDMI tops out at 4K at 30Hz, not 60Hz.
  • The USB-C data port does not support video, and the USB-C PD input is for charging only.

Who should skip it: Pick a hub with 4K at 60Hz or card slots if either feature is central to your setup.

Best for Basic USB-A Accessories: UGREEN USB C Hub 5 in 1 Multiport USB Adapter 4K

The UGREEN USB C Hub 5 in 1 Multiport USB Adapter 4K is a straightforward choice for connecting common USB-A accessories and charging through one adapter. It provides three USB-A data ports, but only one is listed at 5 Gbps; the other two run at 480 Mbps. HDMI and 100W USB-C PD input round out the connection options, though the listing does not specify an HDMI refresh rate.

Reasons to buy:
  • Three USB-A ports accommodate several traditional peripherals.
  • One USB-A port supports 5 Gbps, while two others provide 480 Mbps for lower-bandwidth devices.
  • Includes a USB-C PD input rated up to 100W and an HDMI port listed for 4K.
Reasons to avoid:
  • The listing does not state HDMI refresh rate, so verify that it suits your monitor needs.
  • There are no SD or microSD readers, and two USB-A ports are limited to 480 Mbps.

Who should skip it: Choose a card-reader hub or one with several 5 Gbps data ports for frequent media transfers.

How to Choose the Best USB-C Hub for MacBook Air M5

Check the display output you will actually use

Resolution and refresh rate describe different parts of monitor output. A hub listed for 4K at 60Hz, such as the Anker 7-in-1 or the Melelink adapter, is a better match for a 60Hz 4K screen than the Anker 5-in-1, whose HDMI output is listed at 4K at 30Hz. The UGREEN listing names 4K but does not provide a refresh rate, so confirm that detail before buying if smooth motion matters.

Also check which physical port carries video. The Anker 7-in-1’s USB-C port is data-only, while the HDMI port handles display output. The Anker MacBook hub and the Melelink adapter list a multifunction or Thunderbolt port with display capability. For additional screen-planning guidance, see our guide to the best external monitor for MacBook air M5.

Match data speed and port type to your devices

A keyboard or mouse generally does not need the same bandwidth as an external drive. The UGREEN hub’s 480 Mbps ports can suit lower-speed accessories, while its single 5 Gbps port is a better fit for faster transfers. The Anker 5-in-1 offers three listed 5 Gbps data ports, and the Anker MacBook hub’s multifunction USB-C port is listed up to 40 Gbps. Those figures describe port capabilities in the product listings, not guaranteed transfer speeds for every connected device.

Count the connectors you need at the same time. A USB-A device cannot plug directly into a USB-C data port without an appropriate connection, and a PD input is not a general-purpose data port. If you are building out a broader desk setup, browse more USB hubs and computer accessories.

Decide whether you need card readers

Photographers and other card-based workflows benefit from built-in readers because they avoid a separate card adapter. The Anker MacBook hub has SD and microSD slots; the Anker 7-in-1 includes SD and TF slots; and the Melelink adapter lists SD and microSD readers that can be read at the same time. Its stated reader speed is up to 104 MB/s. The UGREEN and Anker 5-in-1 listings do not include card readers, so they are less suited to direct camera-card imports.

Understand power input and pass-through

Several hubs have a USB-C port for connecting a charger, but their laptop power output may differ from their input rating. The Melelink listing specifies 100W input and 85W output; the Anker 5-in-1 and Anker 7-in-1 list up to 85W laptop pass-through. The UGREEN listing identifies a 100W PD input, but does not state a separate laptop output figure. Check the precise wording on the product listing, and remember that the charger may need to be supplied separately.

Power delivery through a hub can be useful when one cable needs to serve both charging and accessories. If you need the MacBook’s full charging capability, compare the hub’s stated output with the laptop’s needs and your charger’s rating rather than assuming the highest input number is passed through unchanged.

Choose cable-style or direct-mount design

A cable-style hub offers flexibility in placement and can be more practical if your laptop has a protective bottom case. The Anker 7-in-1 and Anker 5-in-1 use this general adapter approach. Direct-mount models, including the Anker MacBook hub and Melelink adapter, use both side USB-C ports and may not fit with a bottom shell. Check case clearance and port placement before choosing one, especially if you plan to leave the hub attached.

How We Compared These Products

We compared the published product listings, focusing on port types, stated data rates, HDMI resolution and refresh rate, power input or pass-through details, card-reader support, and physical connection style. We also considered listed compatibility notes and limitations, such as ports that do not carry video or direct-mount adapters that cannot fit with a bottom case. Product-specific capabilities in this guide reflect the published specifications, not independent performance findings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will these hubs work with a MacBook Air M5?

The product names or published listing details identify compatibility with MacBook Air M5 for these options. Compatibility can still depend on the exact model, port arrangement, operating system, and any case fitted to the laptop. In particular, the direct-mount Anker and Melelink designs need clear access to both side ports, and the Anker hub listing explicitly excludes MacBook Neo.

Can these hubs connect two external displays?

The Anker MacBook hub lists simultaneous HDMI output at 4K at 60Hz and multifunction USB-C display output up to 5K at 60Hz. The Melelink listing also describes dual-display use through HDMI and Thunderbolt, while noting limitations for some older MacBook chips. Actual multi-display support depends on the MacBook model and macOS display capabilities, so verify your specific M5 model’s supported display setup before relying on two external screens.

Does every USB-C port on a hub support video?

No. The Anker 7-in-1 USB-C port is for data, and the Anker 5-in-1 USB-C data port does not support video. Their HDMI ports provide listed display output. Look for an explicit video or display-output specification for the exact port you plan to use.

Can I use a direct-mount hub with a protective case?

It may not fit. The Melelink listing explicitly says its adapter will not fit with a bottom case, and the Anker MacBook hub listing also warns about bottom-shell clearance. A cable-style adapter is the safer form-factor choice when you keep a case installed, but check the product’s fit notes before ordering.

Which hub suits photo and video file transfers?

For camera-card access, consider the Anker MacBook hub, Anker 7-in-1, or Melelink adapter because their listings include card readers. The Melelink specifies simultaneous SD and microSD reading at up to 104 MB/s. For a fast external drive rather than a memory card, compare the exact data port and speed: the Anker MacBook hub lists up to 40 Gbps on its multifunction port, while the Anker 7-in-1 lists 5 Gbps on its data ports.