A drill for furniture assembly may not suit a long fastening job, and a combo kit can add tools you may not need. This guide compares the best cordless drill options here by motor type, speed range, fastening features, included accessories, and the kind of work each supports.
All three picks use 20V MAX batteries and include a charger, but they differ in kit contents and listed performance. Check battery-platform compatibility and the included bits before choosing, especially if you already own batteries from another tool brand.
Pros
- Drill and impact driver included
- Two batteries and charger included
- LED light on each tool
- Compact, contoured handles
Cons
- Who should skip it: buyers needing stated battery runtime
Pros
- Battery and charger included
- Two speed settings
- Keyless 1/2-inch chuck
- Built-in LED work light
Cons
- Only one battery included
- Who should skip it: buyers who need multiple batteries in the kit
Pros
- Brushless motor
- Two speed settings and 10 clutch positions
- Battery and charger included
- 30-piece bit set included
Cons
- Who should skip it: users needing more than 2Ah battery capacity
The Best Cordless Drills by Use Case
Best for Drilling and Heavy Fastening: CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact
This two-tool kit pairs a drill/driver with a separate impact driver, making it the most task-specific choice for users who switch between drilling holes and driving fasteners. The drill is listed with 280 unit watts out and two speed ranges, while the impact driver is specified at 1,460 in-lb of torque, 2,800 RPM, and 3,100 beats per minute. That division can make sense for furniture work, home repairs, and other projects involving both drilling and repeated fastening.
The kit includes two V20 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries, a charger, a storage bag, and two bits. Both tools have LED lights and compact, contoured handles, according to the listing. The extra tool and second battery offer flexibility, but this kit is unnecessary if you only need a basic drill/driver.
Reasons to buy:
- Separate drill/driver and impact driver support different drilling and fastening tasks.
- Two batteries let you keep one available while the other is in use or charging.
- Both tools include LED work lights, and the kit includes a storage bag.
Reasons to avoid:
- Two tools take more storage space than a single drill/driver.
- The listing does not specify battery capacity, so verify runtime expectations for your workload.
Skip it if you want one basic drill for occasional household jobs and have no use for an impact driver.
Best for a Straightforward Drill Kit: CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill/Driver Kit, 1/2 inch
This single-tool kit suits buyers who need a conventional drill/driver rather than a two-tool set. Its listing specifies a 1/2-inch keyless chuck, a 280-unit-watt-out motor, and two speed ranges from 0 to 350 RPM and 0 to 1,500 RPM. The lower range gives you a slower setting for controlled fastening, while the higher range is available for drilling tasks.
A 20V MAX lithium battery and charger are included, and the listing states that the charger can charge the included battery in 60 minutes or less. An LED light helps illuminate work areas, and the drill is compatible with the Versatrack hang hook. Unlike the combo kit, this package does not list a second battery, impact driver, or storage bag, so check the package contents if those items matter to you.
Reasons to buy:
- Keyless 1/2-inch chuck supports bit changes without a chuck key.
- Two listed speed ranges cover slower fastening and faster drilling tasks.
- Battery and charger are included, with a stated charge time of 60 minutes or less.
Reasons to avoid:
- This is a one-tool kit, not a drill-and-impact-driver combo.
- The listing does not specify battery capacity or include a second battery.
Skip it if you want a brushless motor, a bundled selection of bits, or a second battery in the box.
Best for a Brushless Motor and Included Bits: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Brushless ½-in.
This brushless drill/driver kit fits DIY users who value a broad included bit selection and adjustable control. The listing specifies a 1/2-inch metal keyless chuck, two speed settings of 0 to 450 and 0 to 1,900 no-load RPM, 10 clutch positions, and one drilling position. It also states a maximum torque of 486 in-lb, giving buyers a published fastening figure to compare with their needs.
The package includes a 2Ah battery, charger, and 30-piece drill and screwdriver bit set, plus a magnetic bit holder and belt clip. BLACK+DECKER claims up to 39% more power and up to 48% more runtime for the brushless design, and says the drill can make up to 92 holes per charge for common DIY work. Those are manufacturer claims, not guaranteed results; actual output depends on materials, bit choice, and how you use the tool.
Reasons to buy:
- Brushless motor and a listed 486 in-lb maximum torque rating.
- Thirty-piece bit set gives you several common drill and screwdriving accessories in the package.
- Ten clutch positions, two speed settings, and a variable trigger allow adjustments for different tasks.
Reasons to avoid:
- The included battery is 2Ah, and the listing does not provide a direct runtime comparison for your specific work.
- Verify that included bit types and sizes suit your materials and projects.
Skip it if you need a bundled impact driver or a second battery rather than an accessory set.
How to Choose a Cordless Drill
Decide whether you need a drill alone or a combo
A drill/driver handles drilling and screwdriving, while an impact driver is a separate tool designed for fastening work. The combo pick includes both, so it suits projects that regularly alternate between drilling holes and driving fasteners. A single-tool kit may be easier to store and sufficient for occasional repairs, shelf assembly, or basic DIY tasks.
Do not pay for a second tool unless you expect to use it. Compare the complete package list, not just the product name: one listing includes two batteries and a bag, another includes one battery and charger, and the bit-focused kit includes a 2Ah battery and 30-piece accessory set.
Compare speed, torque, and clutch control
Speed ranges help show how much control a drill offers. A slower setting can suit screwdriving, while a higher setting can help with drilling; use the trigger carefully and match the bit to the material. The two CRAFTSMAN drill/driver listings specify a high setting up to 1,500 RPM, while the BLACK+DECKER listing specifies up to 1,900 no-load RPM and 10 clutch positions.
Maximum torque figures are useful for comparing published specifications, but they do not tell you exactly how a drill will perform in every material. The combo kit’s 1,460 in-lb figure belongs to its impact driver, not its drill/driver. Avoid treating those tools as equivalent, and check the task-specific rating in the listing before buying.
Check the battery and charging details
Battery capacity affects how much stored energy a battery holds, but the published listings provide capacity only for the BLACK+DECKER kit’s 2Ah battery. They do not give comparable capacity details for the two CRAFTSMAN kits. If you expect long sessions or frequent work away from an outlet, the combo kit’s second included battery is a concrete advantage; for other kits, verify battery capacity and compatible replacements before purchase.
Battery platforms are not automatically interchangeable across brands. If you already own cordless tools, confirm the exact battery system and model compatibility rather than assuming that a shared voltage label means a battery will fit. The single-tool CRAFTSMAN listing specifies V20 20V MAX lithium battery compatibility, while the combo includes two V20 batteries.
Match chuck and included accessories to your jobs
A 1/2-inch chuck is specified for all three drill/driver options. Keyless designs allow bit changes without a separate chuck key; the BLACK+DECKER listing specifies a single-sleeve metal chuck. Before ordering, check whether the included bits cover your common fasteners and materials. The brushless kit lists a 30-piece set, while the combo lists two bits and the single-tool CRAFTSMAN kit does not specify a bit set.
Included accessories can reduce extra purchases, but they should not decide the choice alone. A broad set is useful when you need several common bit types; a second battery may matter more when you work for extended periods. For other workshop tools that support cutting or surface preparation, browse our guides to the best miter saw options and orbital sanders.
How We Compared
This comparison uses the published product listings, including motor and speed specifications, chuck details, battery and charger information, listed accessories, and stated design features. We distinguish manufacturer claims, such as the BLACK+DECKER runtime and hole-count figures, from directly listed specifications. The published rating data does not include written customer feedback, so it does not support conclusions about recurring owner experiences or long-term durability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use one brand’s 20V battery in another brand’s drill?
Do not assume so. Battery fit and compatibility depend on the specific platform, not only the voltage label. Check the drill and battery model information before using a battery from another tool or buying a replacement.
What is the difference between a drill/driver and an impact driver?
A drill/driver is designed for drilling and screwdriving, with speed and clutch controls suited to those jobs. An impact driver adds repeated rotational impacts for fastening. The combo pick includes both separate tools; the other two kits list a drill/driver only.
Is a brushless drill the right choice for home projects?
A brushless motor may appeal if you value the manufacturer-listed power and runtime claims in the BLACK+DECKER listing. Those claims do not guarantee a particular runtime in your project. Compare the included battery capacity, control settings, and accessories with the work you actually do.
Do these kits include batteries and chargers?
Yes. The combo kit lists two V20 20V MAX batteries and a charger. The single-tool CRAFTSMAN kit lists one battery and a charger, and the BLACK+DECKER kit lists a 2Ah battery and charger. Check the current package contents before ordering, since accessories are specific to each model.
Which drill is suitable for drilling into masonry?
The published listings do not identify these models as hammer drills or provide masonry drilling guidance. If you need to drill masonry, verify the exact model’s supported mode, compatible bit requirements, and manufacturer instructions before choosing. Do not infer masonry suitability from voltage or torque figures alone.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!