Picking an e-reader means choosing between a simple, distraction-free reading device and a more flexible model with color, broad file support, or physical page-turn buttons. This guide to the best e reader under $150 compares screen types, storage, lighting, battery claims, and format support so you can narrow the field to devices that fit your books and daily routine.
Pros
- Compact 6-inch glare-free display
- Adjustable front light and dark mode
- 16 GB storage for thousands of books
- Up to six weeks of claimed battery life
Cons
- Who should skip it: readers who prefer larger screens
Pros
- Compact, lightweight design
- Adjustable front light and dark mode
- 16 GB storage for thousands of books
- Claimed battery life up to six weeks
Cons
- Refurbished device, not new
- May arrive in generic packaging
- Skip it if you prefer a new device
Pros
- Glare-free 300 ppi display
- 32 GB storage
- Auto-adjusting front light
- Wireless charging support
Cons
- Compatible Qi wireless charger sold separately
- Skip if Signature Edition lighting and charging upgrades add no value
Pros
- Pocket-sized 4.7-inch display
- 4GB internal storage
- Physical navigation buttons
- Supports multiple file formats
Cons
- Who should skip it: Readers who prefer larger displays
Pros
- Color E-Ink display
- Expandable storage up to 256 GB
- Adjustable backlight color and brightness
- Supports 17+ book formats
Cons
- Skip it if you prefer a larger reading screen
Pros
- Compact 4.7-inch display
- Light listed weight
- Supports multiple file formats
Cons
- Display resolution not specified
- Who should skip it: readers needing battery-life details
Pros
- 6-inch color E Ink display
- Android 14 operating system
- 64GB built-in storage
- 36-level adjustable front light
Cons
- Refurbished condition may not suit buyers seeking new
- Who should skip it: buyers seeking a new device
Pros
- Glare-free display with adjustable brightness
- Replaceable battery
- 16GB storage
Cons
- Page-turn remote sold separately
- Protective cover sold separately
- Who should skip it: readers who prefer larger screens
Pros
- Glare-free 6-inch E-Ink touchscreen
- Adjustable frontlight color temperature
- Supports 25 file formats
- Expandable storage up to 128GB
Cons
- Skip it if you prefer a larger reading screen
Pros
- Physical page-turn buttons
- Adjustable warm light
- IPX8 water resistance
- Audible support
Cons
- Audible listening requires Bluetooth headphones or speakers
- Who should skip it: readers who do not want page-turn buttons
The Best E-Readers by Use Case
Best for a Simple Reading Routine: Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model)
The difference between a tablet and a Kindle matters most if you want a device dedicated to books. The Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) has a 6-inch glare-free display, adjustable front light, and dark mode, while its 16 GB storage is intended to hold thousands of books. Amazon lists up to six weeks of battery life, a claim that can vary with settings and use.
Reasons to buy:
- Compact 6-inch screen suits reading on commutes or while traveling.
- Adjustable brightness and dark mode support different lighting conditions.
- Distraction-free design avoids email and social-media notifications.
Reasons to avoid:
- The listing does not specify warm-light adjustment, waterproofing, or physical page-turn buttons.
- Kindle+ access is a separate subscription option, not a reason to assume every book is included.
Who should skip it: Choose another model if adjustable warm light, color pages, or buttons matter more than a straightforward reading setup.
Best for Adjustable Warm Light: Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (32 GB)
The Paperwhite alternatives guide can help if you are comparing Kindle features with other reading ecosystems. The Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (32 GB) adds a 6.8-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display, adjustable warm light, and an auto-adjusting front light. It also offers wireless charging with a compatible Qi charger sold separately, plus a USB-C charging option.
Reasons to buy:
- Warm-light adjustment lets you shift the screen from cooler to warmer tones.
- 32 GB storage provides more room than the 16 GB Kindle models in this guide.
- Amazon lists up to 10 weeks of battery life per charge.
Reasons to avoid:
- Wireless charging needs a compatible Qi charger, which the listing says is sold separately.
- The listing describes Audible listening with Bluetooth headphones or speakers, but does not specify that audio accessories are included.
Who should skip it: Look elsewhere if you want a color screen, broad non-Kindle format support, or a model with documented water resistance.
Best for Color E-Ink: Bemi Cognita Tab 6 ProC E-Reader, Grey, 6 Inch
The Bemi Cognita Tab 6 ProC E-Reader, Grey, 6 Inch uses a 6-inch Kaleido 3 color E Ink display and lists support for 4,096 colors. That can suit readers of illustrated books or comics who prefer an e-paper screen, though color E Ink is a different display experience from a conventional tablet screen. The listing also specifies Android 11, Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth 4.2, 32 GB of storage, and microSD expansion up to 256 GB.
Reasons to buy:
- Color E Ink can show colored illustrations and comic artwork.
- MicroSD expansion provides a way to add storage for supported files.
- Touch input, adjustable color and brightness for the front light, and support for 17 or more book formats add flexibility.
Reasons to avoid:
- The listing does not name specific app-store access or guarantee compatibility with a particular reading app.
- Its stated battery life is up to five weeks, not a measured estimate for every brightness and connectivity setting.
Who should skip it: Pick a simpler monochrome reader if your library is mostly plain-text novels and color is not useful to you.
Best for Broad File Support: PocketBook Verse E-Reader
The Kindle alternative guide is useful if your books come from multiple stores or library services. The PocketBook Verse E-Reader lists support for 25 formats, including EPUB, PDF, DOC, DJVU, CBR, and CBZ, and names Adobe DRM compatibility. Its 6-inch Carta touchscreen has adjustable SMARTlight, including brightness and color-temperature controls, while Wi-Fi and PocketBook Cloud support collection syncing.
Reasons to buy:
- Extensive listed format support can reduce file conversion for a mixed collection.
- Memory card support up to 128 GB supplements 8 GB of built-in storage.
- Mechanical controls and a touchscreen offer two ways to navigate.
Reasons to avoid:
- Confirm that your library service, DRM-protected books, and preferred file sources work with the device before buying.
- The listing claims up to a month of battery life, but individual use may differ.
Who should skip it: Choose a Kindle instead if your books and subscriptions already center on Amazon and you do not need extensive format support.
Best for Physical Page-Turn Buttons: Kindle Oasis – With 7” display and page turn
The Kindle Oasis – With 7” display and page turn stands out for readers who prefer turning pages without tapping the screen. It has a 7-inch, 300 ppi flush-front display, adjustable warm light, and an ergonomic design with physical page-turn buttons. The listing also specifies IPX8 waterproofing and Audible support through Bluetooth headphones or speakers.
Reasons to buy:
- Dedicated buttons can make one-handed page turning more convenient.
- Adjustable warm light supports reading at different times of day.
- IPX8 rating is specified for accidental immersion, including use around a bath or pool.
Reasons to avoid:
- The published listing does not state storage capacity or a battery-life estimate, so verify those details if they are deciding factors.
- Its 7-inch display is larger than the 6-inch options, which may matter if pocket portability is a priority.
Who should skip it: Consider a smaller reader if you want the most compact screen, or a model with clearly listed storage and battery claims.
Also Considered
The Like-New Amazon Kindle 16 GB (2024 model) could suit readers open to a refurbished device; its listing says it is certified to look and work like new, but the standard Kindle already covers the same core reading features. The 【Black-Gray】 E-Reader with 4.7-Inch Display may appeal to someone seeking a very small device with several listed formats, but its feature information is limited. The eBook Reader| eReader| 4.7” E-Ink Display also emphasizes compact reading and format support, but gives little detail beyond that. The Bigme B6 Refurbished Color eReader could interest readers wanting Android and color E Ink; we left it outside the main picks because its listing does not supply a battery-life claim or named file-format list.
How to Choose the Best E-Reader Under $150
Choose screen size and display type for your reading
A 6-inch screen keeps a reader compact, while a 6.8- or 7-inch screen gives text and page layouts more room. The Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition and Kindle Oasis list 300 ppi displays; the Bemi lists 300 ppi for its 6-inch color screen. Resolution figures describe pixel density, but do not alone establish which screen will look best to you. If you read mostly novels, a monochrome E Ink screen may be enough. Illustrated books and comics may benefit from color, but check sample pages if color rendering is central to your choice.
Check lighting controls and reading conditions
Front lighting lets you read in dim rooms without relying on a separate lamp. Several models list adjustable brightness, while the Paperwhite Signature Edition, PocketBook Verse, and Oasis also list warm-light or color-temperature adjustment. Do not assume every front light has the same controls: the basic Kindle listing specifies brightness and dark mode, but not warm-light adjustment. Check the exact model listing for the controls you plan to use.
Match file formats and book services
Format support can decide whether you can open books directly or need to convert files. PocketBook lists 25 formats and Adobe DRM support, while the Bemi lists more than 17 formats, including EPUB, PDF, and MOBI. Kindle models provide access to the Kindle Store and optional Kindle subscriptions, but the published listings do not give a complete format list. Before buying, check whether your library, store, DRM protection, and reading app are supported. For an ecosystem comparison, see our guide to Kindle alternatives.
Size storage to your library
Storage affects how many books and other supported files you can keep on the device at once. The Kindles in this group list 16 GB, the Paperwhite Signature Edition lists 32 GB, and the PocketBook Verse lists 8 GB with memory-card expansion up to 128 GB. The Bemi lists 32 GB and microSD expansion up to 256 GB. Expansion depends on compatible cards and supported content, so verify card requirements rather than assuming that any card will work.
Weigh controls, connectivity, and battery claims
Touchscreens keep controls simple, while the Oasis and PocketBook Verse also list physical controls. Bluetooth appears on several models for audio or connectivity, but do not assume every e-reader supports the same audio services or accessories. Battery figures here are manufacturer listing claims, such as up to six weeks for the basic Kindle and up to 10 weeks for the Paperwhite Signature Edition. Actual runtime can depend on lighting, wireless use, and reading habits. If you read by water, the Oasis is the only model in this selection with a stated IPX8 rating; follow its product guidance and do not generalize that rating to other devices.
How We Compared
This comparison draws on the published product descriptions and listed features, including display size and type, lighting controls, storage, format support, connectivity, battery-life claims, and water-resistance information. We also considered the customer ratings provided as listing data, but they do not establish product performance or a recurring ownership pattern. Where details were missing, such as battery life or storage for the Oasis, we identify that gap rather than filling it with an assumption.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can these e-readers open books from any store?
No. Format support and digital rights management differ by device and source. PocketBook lists many formats and Adobe DRM support, while Kindle devices center on the Kindle Store and services. Check the exact file type, DRM, and library service you use before choosing.
Is color E Ink better for novels?
Not necessarily. Color E Ink can display illustrations and comics in color, but many novel readers may prefer a monochrome screen and do not need color. Compare the content you read most, and remember that a color e-paper display is not the same as a conventional tablet screen.
Do all of these devices have adjustable warm light?
No. Warm-light adjustment is listed for the Paperwhite Signature Edition, PocketBook Verse, and Kindle Oasis. The standard Kindle listing specifies adjustable brightness and dark mode, not warm-light control. Confirm the feature on the exact model page, especially when comparing model generations.
Which model is a good fit for reading library books?
That depends on your library service and the format or DRM it uses. PocketBook lists Adobe DRM support and broad file compatibility, but that does not guarantee compatibility with every library. Verify the service’s device and file requirements before purchasing.
Can I listen to audiobooks on these e-readers?
The Paperwhite Signature Edition and Kindle Oasis listings describe Audible listening through Bluetooth headphones or speakers. The Bigme B6 listing mentions audiobooks, but details are limited. Check service availability, Bluetooth support, and whether accessories are included; the published information does not say that headphones come with these devices.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!