Choosing the Best Laptop for AI Development depends on where the work runs. Local model experiments, software development, and cloud-based AI tools place different demands on a laptop, so a feature such as an included AI assistant does not by itself show that a computer can run AI models locally.
This guide compares Apple’s M5 MacBook Air with a lower-cost student laptop. It explains what their listed processors, memory, storage, software, and connections can support, and what you should confirm before choosing a machine for a particular development environment.
Pros
- Generous 24GB unified memory and 1TB SSD storage
- Lightweight 2.71-pound chassis for easy travel
- Support for up to two external displays
- Fast Wi-Fi 7 and Thunderbolt 4 connectivity
Cons
- Limited to two Thunderbolt 4 ports
- Users needing extensive legacy connectivity should skip it
Pros
- Generous 12GB RAM for daily productivity tasks
- Crisp Full HD IPS display with lay-flat hinge
- Pre-installed one-year Microsoft Office 365 subscription
- Versatile connectivity including full-function USB-C
Cons
- Entry-level J4105 processor limits demanding creative workloads
- Advertised six-hour battery life requires frequent recharges
- Power users and gamers should skip this machine
The Best Laptops by Use Case
Best for Apple-Based AI Workflows: Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5
The Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5 is the more clearly specified option here for developers who want a portable Apple laptop with features aimed at AI workloads. Its 24GB of unified memory, M5 chip, Neural Engine, and GPU with Neural Accelerators give it a stronger stated basis for exploring Apple-supported AI tools than a laptop whose listing only mentions an AI assistant. The listing does not identify model sizes or performance results, so check requirements for your particular framework and workload.
Reasons to buy:- 24GB of unified memory and a 1TB SSD are specified.
- The M5 chip includes a Neural Engine and GPU with Neural Accelerators, according to the listing.
- Two Thunderbolt 4 ports and support for up to two external displays can suit a desk setup.
- The listing does not specify compatibility with every AI framework, model, or development tool.
- Its 13.6-inch display may feel restrictive if you want lots of code and documentation visible at once.
Skip it if your required software depends on a different operating system or you need verified support for a particular local model before purchase.
Best for Mobile Coding and Classes: Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5
The Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5 also suits developers who move between classes, meetings, and coding sessions. Apple lists up to 18 hours of battery life, a 13.6-inch display, and a thin, light design, but battery life is a manufacturer claim rather than a guarantee for every workload. Its compact screen favors carrying convenience over the workspace of a larger display.
Reasons to buy:- The 13.6-inch screen keeps the laptop compact for travel between work locations.
- The listing claims up to 18 hours of battery life.
- A 12MP Center Stage camera, three-mic array, and four-speaker system support calls and classes.
- The listing does not say how long battery lasts during sustained AI or coding workloads.
- Only two Thunderbolt 4 ports are listed, so check whether your desk accessories need a hub.
Skip it if you prioritize a larger built-in display or need a stated battery estimate for your exact development workload.
Best for Cloud-Based AI Assistance on a Budget: DRKAKO 15.6-inch FHD IPS Student Laptop
The DRKAKO 15.6-inch FHD IPS Student Laptop is aimed at everyday school and office tasks, with an AI assistant described for drafting, summarizing, and meeting notes. That listing language describes using an assistant, not running machine-learning models locally. Its J4105 quad-core processor and 12GB of DDR4 memory are specified for browsing, online classes, streaming, and document work, so buyers should confirm that their development tools will run acceptably before treating it as a coding machine.
Reasons to buy:- The 15.6-inch FHD IPS display provides more screen area than the 13.6-inch MacBook Air display.
- The listing includes a one-year Office 365 subscription and an AI assistant.
- Its 256GB SSD is listed as expandable up to 2TB SSD or 1TB microSD.
- The listed processor and memory are positioned for everyday tasks, not demonstrated local AI model performance.
- The manufacturer claims up to six hours of battery life, less than the MacBook Air’s listed maximum.
Skip it if your goal is local model development or your tools have processor, memory, or operating-system requirements you have not verified.
Best for a Larger Screen and Group Work: DRKAKO 15.6-inch FHD IPS Student Laptop
The DRKAKO 15.6-inch FHD IPS Student Laptop may fit students who want a larger built-in screen for documents, browser-based tools, and group presentations. Its 1920 × 1080 resolution, IPS panel, and 180-degree lay-flat hinge are listed features; the hinge can help when sharing the display, while the screen size and 3.7 lb listed weight make it less compact than the MacBook Air. This remains an everyday productivity option, not a proven local AI workstation.
Reasons to buy:- The 15.6-inch FHD IPS display offers a larger workspace for reading and presenting.
- The 180-degree hinge supports laying the display flat for screen sharing.
- USB 3.2, USB-C, Mini HDMI, a headphone jack, and a microSD slot are listed.
- At 3.7 lb, it is heavier than a typical preference for minimal carry weight, though no comparative weight is supplied for the MacBook Air.
- The listing says USB-C supports data, video, and charging but does not specify transfer speed or charging details.
Skip it if you need a compact laptop for frequent travel or a system with confirmed local AI framework support.
How to Choose the Best Laptop for AI Development
Decide where AI computation will run
Start by separating local development from cloud-based work. A cloud notebook or hosted service performs computation remotely, while a local model uses the laptop’s own processor, memory, and graphics resources. The DRKAKO listing describes an AI assistant for common writing and study tasks, but that does not establish local model support. The MacBook Air listing names an M5 chip, Neural Engine, and GPU Neural Accelerators, but still does not provide compatibility details for specific frameworks.
Before buying, check the documentation for the framework, model, and development environment you intend to use. Confirm supported operating systems, processor requirements, memory needs, and whether acceleration is supported. If the laptop will only connect to cloud tools, prioritize reliable access, screen comfort, and battery needs rather than assuming a feature branded as AI means local compute capability.
Match memory and storage to your project
Memory affects how many applications and project files can remain active, while storage holds code, datasets, tools, and downloaded model files. The MacBook Air lists 24GB unified memory and 1TB SSD; the DRKAKO lists 12GB DDR4 and a 256GB SSD. Those figures make the MacBook Air the more generously specified choice for memory and built-in storage, but they do not prove a particular model will fit or run well.
Estimate the space required by your datasets, environments, and model files before choosing. DRKAKO’s listing says storage can expand up to a 2TB SSD or 1TB microSD, but confirm the supported drive or card type, installation process, and whether expansion affects any existing storage. Do not treat expandability as a substitute for checking memory requirements: storage capacity and working memory serve different purposes.
Check operating system and software support
The MacBook Air runs macOS, according to its listing. The supplied DRKAKO details do not state its operating system, so verify that information and check whether your required editor, language tools, drivers, and frameworks support it. A familiar assistant or preinstalled office software does not confirm support for a developer’s complete toolchain.
If you work with a course or team, check its exact installation instructions before choosing. Confirm whether required packages support the laptop’s processor and operating system, and whether access to a remote server is part of the workflow. Buyers comparing Apple laptops may also find our MacBook buying guide useful for considering other models, while readers weighing Linux support can consult our guide to student laptops with Linux compatibility.
Choose screen size, portability, and battery around your routine
A larger display can make it easier to view code beside documentation, while a smaller laptop can be easier to carry. The MacBook Air has a 13.6-inch Liquid Retina display; DRKAKO has a 15.6-inch, 1920 × 1080 IPS display and a listed weight of 3.7 lb. Resolution alone does not establish overall display quality, so consider the size and panel information in the context of where you work.
Battery figures also need context. Apple lists up to 18 hours, and DRKAKO lists up to six hours; actual runtime can vary with applications and workload, and the published information does not specify AI-development runtime. If you expect long sessions away from an outlet, check your work pattern and charging setup rather than assuming the maximum claim applies to sustained computation.
Review ports and external-display needs
Port selection matters when you connect an external screen, storage, or other accessories. Apple lists two Thunderbolt 4 ports, MagSafe charging, a headphone jack, Wi-Fi 7, and support for up to two external displays. DRKAKO lists USB 3.2, USB-C for data, video, and charging, Mini HDMI, a headphone jack, microSD, Wi-Fi 5, and Bluetooth. The listing does not state USB-C transfer speeds or power-delivery details, so verify those specifications for any accessory that depends on them.
Make a short list of the devices you use at your desk and check which ports they need. A USB-C connector does not automatically guarantee the same speed, display support, or charging behavior across laptops. For another laptop use case, see our laptop guide for graphic design.
How We Compared
This comparison uses the published product listings, including processor and memory details, display specifications, storage, battery-life claims, ports, software descriptions, and stated intended uses. Those details help distinguish a laptop listing that names AI-focused processing features from one that describes an AI assistant for everyday tasks. The published data does not establish framework compatibility, local model performance, operating-system details for DRKAKO, or typical battery runtime, so buyers should verify those points against their own requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does an included AI assistant mean a laptop can run AI models locally?
No. The DRKAKO listing describes an assistant for drafting, summarizing, and taking meeting notes, but it does not state that the laptop runs models locally. Check whether the assistant uses a cloud service and confirm the laptop’s ability to run any local model you have in mind.
Which of these laptops is better specified for local AI development?
The Apple 2026 MacBook Air 13-inch Laptop with M5 has more relevant listed details: 24GB unified memory, an M5 chip, a Neural Engine, and a GPU with Neural Accelerators. Those features do not guarantee support for a particular framework or model. Verify software compatibility and workload requirements before relying on it for local development.
Can the DRKAKO laptop work for learning to code?
Its listing describes the J4105 quad-core processor and 12GB DDR4 memory for browsing, online classes, streaming, and everyday document work. That may align with basic coursework or browser-based tools, but the published details do not establish performance for particular coding environments. Confirm the requirements for your classes and tools, including the operating system, which is not stated in the published information.
Is the MacBook Air’s battery claim a good estimate for AI work?
Apple lists up to 18 hours, but the published information does not specify runtime during AI development or sustained computation. Treat it as a manufacturer maximum claim, not a promise for every workload. Check your expected applications and access to charging.
Which laptop is more comfortable for viewing code and documentation?
DRKAKO has the larger listed screen at 15.6 inches, compared with the MacBook Air’s 13.6 inches. A larger built-in display can offer more room for side-by-side windows, while the smaller screen may suit buyers who prioritize a compact format. Neither screen size alone determines overall display quality.
What should I verify before ordering for a specific AI course?
Check the course’s operating-system support, processor and memory requirements, required frameworks, and whether work runs locally or on a remote server. Also confirm storage needs and required display or accessory connections. The product details available here do not identify every framework compatibility requirement, and DRKAKO’s operating system is not stated.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!