A 50-inch 4K TV can suit a bedroom, apartment, or smaller living room, but screen technology and smart features vary. This guide compares the Roku 50-inch Select Series QLED and Samsung M70H Series Mini LED, focusing on picture features, streaming, motion claims, connectivity details, and what buyers should verify before ordering.
Pros
- 50-inch 4K QLED display
- Roku smart TV platform
- HDMI, USB, Wi-Fi, and Ethernet connectivity
- HDMI cable and CPS warranty included
Cons
- Skip if you need stated refresh rate or HDMI version
Pros
- 4K Mini LED picture features
- 750+ free Samsung TV Plus channels
- Centralized Gaming Hub
Cons
- Skip if you need confirmed HDMI or native refresh-rate specs
The Best 50-Inch TVs by Use Case
Best for Roku Interface Fans: Roku 50″ Select Series 4K QLED TV HDMI CPS
The Roku 50″ Select Series 4K QLED TV HDMI CPS pairs a 50-inch 4K QLED display with Roku’s smart TV platform. The listing describes Quantum Dot color, HDR compatibility, and access to streaming apps, live TV, and free entertainment. It may suit viewers who want a straightforward Roku-based TV and a bundle that includes an HDMI cable, a streaming bundle, and a 12-month CPS warranty. The listing does not identify the bundle’s exact streaming contents, so check what is included before buying.
Reasons to buy:
- Roku operating system offers apps, live TV, and free entertainment in one interface.
- QLED and 4K resolution provide a clear feature set for streaming and everyday viewing.
- The listed package includes an HDMI cable and 12-month CPS warranty.
Reasons to avoid:
- The listing does not specify a refresh rate, exact HDR formats, or HDMI port count.
- The streaming bundle’s contents are not described, so its value is difficult to assess from the published details.
Skip it if you need a confirmed high refresh rate, named HDR formats, or detailed port specifications before choosing a TV.
Best for Quantum Dot Color Features: Roku 50″ Select Series 4K QLED TV HDMI CPS
The Roku 50″ Select Series 4K QLED TV HDMI CPS is also the more direct fit for shoppers specifically seeking a QLED model. Its listing attributes a wider color spectrum and enhanced brightness to Quantum Dot technology, alongside 4K resolution and support for HDR formats. Those are manufacturer-listed features, not a guarantee of a particular brightness level or picture result in your room. Compare the actual HDR formats and display details on the retailer listing if you have a specific source device or content format in mind.
Reasons to buy:
- QLED panel technology is explicitly identified in the product details.
- The listing combines Quantum Dot color claims with 4K resolution and HDR compatibility.
- Roku’s smart platform supports the listing’s stated streaming and live TV use.
Reasons to avoid:
- Specific peak brightness, contrast measurements, and HDR format names are not supplied.
- The listing does not confirm a gaming refresh rate or features such as variable refresh rate.
Skip it if you are comparing TVs by measured brightness, confirmed HDR formats, or detailed gaming specifications that this listing does not provide.
Best for Listed Motion Features: Samsung 50-Inch Class M70H Series, Mini LED, 4K
The Samsung 50-Inch Class M70H Series, Mini LED, 4K is the option to consider when motion features for sports or gaming are high on your list. Samsung lists Motion Xcelerator plus DLG 120Hz and describes the feature as optimizing refresh rate for smoother motion. The published information does not clarify the panel’s native refresh rate or the conditions for the DLG claim, so do not treat the wording as confirmation of native 120Hz input. Check the specification sheet and supported input modes if you plan to connect a console or PC.
Reasons to buy:
- The listing specifically names Motion Xcelerator plus DLG 120Hz.
- Mini LED and 4K are listed alongside HDR picture features.
- Samsung highlights sports use with a dedicated Soccer Mode.
Reasons to avoid:
- The product information does not state native refresh rate, variable refresh rate support, or gaming latency.
- Exact HDR formats and port details are not included in the published specifications.
Skip it if you need confirmed console features or a verified native refresh rate and cannot check those details on the full listing.
Best for Subscription-Free Channel Options: Samsung 50-Inch Class M70H Series, Mini LED, 4K
The Samsung 50-Inch Class M70H Series, Mini LED, 4K may appeal to viewers who want free programming available directly through a smart TV platform. Samsung lists more than 2,700 free streaming options, including over 750 subscription-free channels through Samsung TV Plus. This makes the built-in content offering a clear point of comparison with the Roku model, whose published details mention free entertainment but do not give a channel count. Content availability and service terms can change, so verify current access and whether the channels match your interests.
Reasons to buy:
- The listing specifies Samsung TV Plus and more than 750 subscription-free channels.
- The TV combines the stated content service with 4K smart TV features.
- The listing also names Mini LED HDR and color technologies for viewers considering picture features alongside streaming.
Reasons to avoid:
- The published information does not provide a full list of channels or confirm availability of every desired app.
- Free channel quantity alone does not establish picture quality, usability, or suitability for a particular viewer.
Skip it if you depend on specific streaming apps or channels and have not confirmed that they are available on Samsung’s platform.
How to Choose the Best 50-Inch TV
Compare display technology and picture claims
Both sets are listed as 50-inch 4K televisions, but their display technologies differ. Roku specifies QLED with Quantum Dot technology; Samsung specifies Mini LED and describes its Mini LED dimming and HDR features. These labels point to different approaches, but the published information does not provide directly comparable brightness, contrast, or color measurements. If picture quality is your priority, look for exact panel specifications, supported HDR formats, and independent measurements for the precise model variant.
Check refresh rate claims against your gaming needs
Samsung lists Motion Xcelerator plus DLG 120Hz, but the provided details do not say whether the panel has a native 120Hz refresh rate or which resolutions and inputs support the feature. Roku’s published details do not state a refresh rate. For casual console play, 4K and a suitable HDMI connection may be enough, but buyers seeking high-frame-rate gaming should verify native refresh rate, supported input formats, variable refresh rate, and low-latency features on the full specification sheet. Do not infer these capabilities from a general gaming-friendly description.
Choose a smart platform based on the apps you use
Roku lists access to thousands of apps, live TV, and free entertainment through its Roku operating system. Samsung highlights its own smart TV platform and Samsung TV Plus free channels. Consider which interface you prefer and check that the services you use are supported on the exact model. A large catalog or channel count does not confirm that every app is available, nor does it show how a particular service performs.
Verify ports, audio connections, and included items
The Roku listing says the TV has multiple HDMI and USB connections, plus Wi-Fi and Ethernet, and notes compatibility with devices such as consoles, Blu-ray players, and soundbars. It does not state port counts or audio output details in the published data. Samsung’s published feature list does not specify its port configuration. Before purchase, check the exact number and type of HDMI ports, audio output options, and any connection needed by your soundbar or game system. Roku’s package lists an HDMI cable, but the published details do not identify its length or version.
Read bundle and warranty details carefully
The Roku package description names an HDMI cable, streaming bundle, and 12-month CPS warranty. The available information does not describe the streaming bundle’s contents or provide the warranty terms, exclusions, or claims process. Confirm those details with the seller if they affect your choice. Samsung’s published product details do not describe bundled accessories or warranty coverage, so avoid assuming the two packages provide equivalent extras.
For other screen sizes and brands, compare our guides to 55-inch TVs, Roku TVs, and TVs under $300. Those comparisons can help if a 50-inch screen or one of these smart platforms does not match your needs.
How We Compared
This comparison uses the published product descriptions, listed features, included-item information, and customer feedback data. The provided data reports no customer reviews for either product, so it cannot support conclusions about owner satisfaction or recurring reliability. We distinguish listed manufacturer claims from confirmed details and flag missing information, including refresh-rate specifics, HDR formats, and port configurations, where those details can affect a purchase.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is QLED or Mini LED better for a 50-inch TV?
Neither label alone establishes which TV will look better. Roku lists QLED and Quantum Dot color technology, while Samsung lists Mini LED, dimming, and HDR features. The published information lacks directly comparable brightness and contrast measurements, so compare independent results and confirm the exact model specifications if picture quality is your deciding factor.
Does Samsung’s DLG 120Hz mean native 120Hz?
The supplied Samsung listing names Motion Xcelerator plus DLG 120Hz, but it does not confirm the panel’s native refresh rate or explain supported input conditions. Check Samsung’s detailed specification sheet for native refresh rate, resolution limits, and compatible HDMI inputs before buying for high-frame-rate gaming.
Which TV includes a streaming device or cable?
The Roku product listing specifies an HDMI cable, a streaming bundle, and a 12-month CPS warranty. It does not state that a separate streaming device is included or explain what the bundle contains. Confirm the seller’s package details. The supplied Samsung information does not identify included cables or other accessories.
Can I connect a soundbar or game console to either TV?
Roku says its TV can connect to consoles and soundbars and lists multiple HDMI connections, but the published data does not give port counts or audio output details. Samsung’s provided details do not specify ports. Check the exact model’s connection list for HDMI count, audio output compatibility, and any eARC requirement before selecting a soundbar or console setup.
Which smart TV has more free content listed?
Samsung specifies more than 2,700 free streaming options, including over 750 subscription-free Samsung TV Plus channels. Roku’s listing mentions free entertainment and live TV but does not give a comparable channel count. These listing claims do not confirm that either platform carries every app or channel you want, so check availability by service.
Should I choose a 50-inch TV for a smaller room?
A 50-inch screen may fit a bedroom, apartment, or smaller living room, as the Roku listing suggests, but screen size alone cannot determine viewing comfort. Check the TV’s physical dimensions, stand placement, mounting compatibility, and your seating distance on the full product listing. Those measurements are not provided in the published product data.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!