During a hurricane outage, a compact power station can keep phones, lights, and other small devices running, but these models have limited battery capacity and output. This guide to the best portable power station for hurricane-related needs compares two small options and explains what their specifications can, and cannot, support.

1
DaranEner’s 89.6Wh portable power station combines a 100W AC output with USB-C, USB-A, and DC ports in a 2.54-pound package. It suits charging phones, laptops, and other devices rated within its output limits; skip it if you need more than 100W or a solar panel included.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Seven output ports
  • Compact, 2.54-pound design
  • LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,500-plus cycles
  • Multiple charging methods

Cons

  • 100W maximum output limits device options
  • Solar panel and cable not included
  • Who should skip it: users needing higher-wattage power
2
ENOFLO’s 97.68Wh portable power station offers six output ports, built-in lights, and three charging options in a compact-format design. It suits trips or brief backup needs for phones and other low-power devices, but its AC outlet is rated for 120W peak, and the solar panel is not included.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Six output ports
  • Three recharging methods
  • Built-in flashlight and light panel
  • USB-C output up to 18W

Cons

  • Solar panel not included
  • Skip it if you need over 120W AC output

The Best Portable Power Stations by Use Case

Best for More Charging Ports: Daran Portable Power Station 89.6Wh LiFePO4

The Daran Portable Power Station 89.6Wh LiFePO4 suits buyers who want several connection options in a small station. Its listed outputs include two 100W AC sockets, two USB-C ports rated at 45W and 15W, two USB-A ports rated at 18W and 15W, and a DC5521 port. The 89.6Wh LiFePO4 battery and 100W stated output make it a small-device backup, not a whole-home or high-demand appliance solution.

Reasons to buy:

  • Seven listed output ports give you options for charging multiple small devices, subject to their power needs.
  • The 45W USB-C port provides a higher listed USB-C output than the ENOFLO’s 18W USB-C port.
  • The listing specifies a 2.54 lb weight, a built-in flashlight with steady and SOS modes, and fanless operation.

Reasons to avoid:

  • Its 89.6Wh capacity and 100W output limit rule it out for many appliances and extended backup use.
  • The solar panel and cable are not included, and the listing does not establish how long common devices will run.

Skip it if you need to run a refrigerator, sump pump, medical equipment, or other high-demand device. Check that each device’s power draw stays within the station’s stated output, and confirm any special backup needs with the equipment manufacturer.

Best for Lighter Carrying Weight: ENOFLO Portable Power Station

The ENOFLO Portable Power Station is a compact option for people prioritizing a lighter unit and a simple set of emergency lighting features. Its listed battery capacity is 97.68Wh, with one 110V AC socket rated at 120W peak, one 18W USB-C port, two USB-A ports, and two DC ports. At 2.2 lb, it weighs less than the Daran, but provides fewer listed ports and a lower USB-C rating.

Reasons to buy:

  • The listed 2.2 lb weight and hidden handle make it a relatively light option to pack or move.
  • Its 97.68Wh capacity is slightly higher than the Daran’s stated 89.6Wh capacity, though actual runtime depends on the connected device and conversion losses.
  • It has both a three-level flashlight with SOS mode and a separate two-level light panel.

Reasons to avoid:

  • The single AC socket is listed at 120W peak. The listing does not specify a continuous AC rating, so verify suitability for any device that uses AC power.
  • Its USB-C port is rated at 18W, and its listed cycle life is greater than 1,000 cycles, lower than the Daran listing’s claim of 3,500-plus cycles.

Skip it if your priority is a higher-output USB-C connection or multiple AC sockets. Confirm that the intended device works with its port type and power rating before relying on it during an outage.

How to Choose the Best Portable Power Station for Hurricane Outages

Start with the devices you need to power

Write down each device’s input requirements before choosing a station. Check the label or manufacturer documentation for wattage, voltage, connector type, and whether the device needs AC or DC power. Then compare those needs with the station’s output ratings. A port that fits physically is not enough: the station must also supply the required power.

Both options here are small-capacity products, and their stated AC outputs are limited. The Daran lists 100W AC sockets; the ENOFLO lists one 110V socket at 120W peak. Neither listing supports treating either model as a backup for large appliances or household circuits. For equipment with a motor, heating element, or sensitive power requirements, check its startup and operating needs with its manufacturer, and confirm that the station’s ratings cover them.

Understand watt-hours and realistic backup time

Watt-hours (Wh) describe stored energy, while watts describe the rate at which a device draws power. The Daran is listed at 89.6Wh and the ENOFLO at 97.68Wh. The ENOFLO has slightly more stated capacity, but that difference alone does not establish how many hours either unit will power a phone, light, or other device.

Runtime varies with the connected device, the output used, and energy lost during power conversion. Listings do not provide measured runtime for specific devices, so avoid planning around a precise number of phone charges or hours of operation. For outage planning, list essential devices, estimate their energy use from manufacturer information, and keep a margin rather than assuming all listed capacity is available at the outlet.

Match ports and charging speeds to your equipment

Count the ports you will use at the same time, then compare both connector type and rated output. The Daran lists two USB-C ports at different ratings, 45W and 15W, while the ENOFLO lists one 18W USB-C port. Those numbers describe listed output ratings, not a guarantee that every connected phone or computer will charge at that speed. The device, cable, and charging protocol also matter.

For USB-C charging, check the device’s required input and the cable’s supported power rating. Our guide to choosing a USB-C cable covers why cable capability matters. Do not assume that all USB-C ports support the same charging features just because they share a connector. Also check whether using multiple ports changes available output, since the supplied product information does not explain combined-output limits.

Plan for recharging during an extended outage

Recharging options can matter as much as initial capacity when utility power is unavailable. The Daran listing describes AC, USB-C, car, and solar charging, and claims a charge to 80% in 1.5 hours. It also says the solar panel and cable are not included. The ENOFLO listing describes AC charging with an included adapter, solar charging with a 13V to 25V panel that is not included, and car charging through a USB-C 9V/3A socket.

Those listing details do not establish solar charging time or performance in particular weather. Before buying a panel, confirm its voltage range and connector compatibility with the station. If you expect to recharge from a vehicle, verify the required cable and connection method; the ENOFLO product information lists included charging accessories, while the Daran listing says its solar panel and cable are not included.

Consider battery chemistry, size, and emergency role

The Daran listing specifies a LiFePO4 battery and claims more than 3,500 cycles, while the ENOFLO listing identifies a lithium-ion battery and claims more than 1,000 cycles. These are manufacturer-provided claims, not a promise of service life under every charging pattern. Both units are small enough to carry, but the ENOFLO’s listed weight is lower. Choose based on the battery information and portability that matter to you, while checking storage and maintenance instructions in the product manual.

Neither compact station should be mistaken for a household generator or whole-home battery. For a larger backup setup, compare models in the broader portable power station category and confirm capacity, output, and transfer requirements against your actual loads. During a hurricane, follow local emergency guidance and keep electrical equipment dry. Use these battery stations indoors only as directed by their manuals, and never use a fuel-burning generator indoors or in an enclosed space.

How We Compared

This comparison uses the supplied product listings, including stated battery capacity, output ratings, port counts, dimensions, weight, charging methods, lighting features, and battery claims. We also considered how those listed details fit common small-device backup needs. The supplied material includes no customer feedback that supports a recurring ownership conclusion, and listing claims should be checked against the product manual before purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can either of these stations run a refrigerator during a hurricane?

The supplied listings do not establish refrigerator compatibility or runtime. The Daran lists 100W AC sockets, and the ENOFLO lists a 120W peak AC output. Check the refrigerator’s operating and startup power requirements, then compare them with the station’s continuous and peak ratings in its manual. These compact products are not presented as whole-home backup systems.

Can I charge a phone and another device at the same time?

Both listings describe multiple output ports, so simultaneous connections are available in principle. However, the supplied information does not state the combined output limit across all ports. Check the manual for shared limits, and confirm that the total load stays within the station’s ratings.

Do these stations include solar panels?

No. Both listings say a solar panel is not included. The Daran listing also says its solar cable is not included. The ENOFLO listing specifies a 13V to 25V panel range, while the Daran listing does not provide a panel voltage range in the supplied information. Confirm panel and connector compatibility before buying accessories.

Which model is easier to carry?

The ENOFLO is listed at 2.2 lb, compared with the Daran at 2.54 lb, so it is the lighter of these two. Both include a carrying feature described in their listings: the ENOFLO has a hidden handle, and the Daran has an ergonomic soft handle. Consider the weight alongside port needs and output ratings rather than choosing on weight alone.

Can I use one of these as a medical-device backup?

Do not rely on either station for medical equipment unless the equipment manufacturer and power-station documentation confirm compatibility and sufficient runtime. Check the device’s power requirements, approved backup options, and any need for uninterrupted power. For essential medical equipment, contact its manufacturer or care provider about an appropriate outage plan.

Which one should I choose for a hurricane kit?

Choose the Daran if its additional ports, higher-rated USB-C port, or listed LiFePO4 chemistry better match your needs. Choose the ENOFLO if lower listed weight, slightly higher stated capacity, and its separate light panel are more useful. Either way, treat these as compact backup options for compatible small devices, and plan another power source for larger or essential loads.