A Wi-Fi router can stop working during an outage even when your phone still has plenty of battery. Choosing the best power bank for a Wi-Fi router means checking the router’s power input, the backup unit’s output, and how long you need the connection to stay available. This guide covers one listed option with an AC outlet and explains what to verify before relying on it.
Pros
- Built-in 100W AC port powers small appliances
- Fast 65W USB-C input recharges in 1.5 hours
- Meets TSA carry-on limit under 100Wh
- Four diverse output ports for multi-device charging
Cons
- Cannot power appliances exceeding 100W draw
- Users running high-draw heavy electronics should skip it
The Best Power Banks by Use Case
Only one product was supplied for this guide, so it is not possible to compare several distinct models or choose among four to six products without inventing options. The pick below is a conditional fit: check your router’s power requirements and backup-time needs before buying.
Best for AC-Powered Router Backup: Paopaoyu Portable Power Bank with AC Outlet
The Paopaoyu Portable Power Bank with AC Outlet has an AC outlet rated for devices drawing less than 100W, according to its listing. That makes it a possible option for a router with a compatible AC power adapter, provided the router and adapter stay within the outlet’s limit. Its listed 98Wh capacity and 100W AC output describe different things: capacity is stored energy, while output is the maximum stated power for a connected device.
The unit also lists a 65W USB-C Power Delivery port, plus 12W and 18W USB ports. Those ports may help charge other devices, but they do not establish that a particular router can run directly from USB-C. Check the router’s adapter label and connector requirements rather than assuming that any USB-C port will work. The listing does not provide router-specific runtime estimates, so actual backup time cannot be determined from the published information.
Reasons to buy:
- The AC outlet provides a potential power option for a router that uses a compatible AC adapter and stays below the listed 100W limit.
- The 98Wh capacity is specified in watt-hours, which gives you a useful figure to compare with other portable backup products.
- The listing specifies USB-C PD input and output up to 65W, alongside 12W and 18W USB outputs for supported devices.
Reasons to avoid:
- The published information does not state how long it can power a particular router, and runtime depends on the router’s actual draw and conversion losses.
- The listing does not establish UPS-style switchover, so do not assume your router will stay on without interruption when grid power fails.
Skip it if your router needs more than 100W, its adapter or plug is incompatible with the AC outlet, or you need guaranteed uninterrupted switchover.
How to Choose the Best Power Bank for Wi-Fi Router Backup
Match the power source to the router
Start with the label on your router’s power adapter. Note its input and output details, including voltage, current, connector type, and whether it plugs into a wall outlet. The Paopaoyu unit offers an AC outlet, so it may suit a router powered through its original AC adapter if the total device draw remains below the stated 100W ceiling.
Do not compare only the numbers printed on the power bank. The router’s adapter converts household AC into the power the router needs, and the adapter must still be used if the router depends on it. If you are considering a direct USB connection instead, verify that the router supports the power bank’s specific output voltage and connector. The listing does not identify router models or promise universal compatibility.
Separate capacity from output wattage
Capacity indicates how much energy a battery stores; output wattage indicates how much power it can provide at a given time. The product listing states both 98Wh capacity and up to 100W at the AC outlet. The outlet rating can help you screen out loads that exceed its limit, but it does not tell you how many hours a router will run.
For a rough planning estimate, find the router’s power draw in watts and divide the battery’s watt-hour capacity by that draw. This gives a theoretical upper estimate, not a guaranteed runtime, because power conversion and operating conditions affect usable energy. If the router’s draw is not listed, check its adapter label or manufacturer documentation. Do not treat the stated 27,000mAh figure as directly interchangeable with watt-hours unless voltage is also accounted for.
Decide whether an AC outlet or USB output fits
An AC outlet is useful when you need to connect a device through its regular wall adapter. It can also mean extra conversion steps compared with a device designed for direct DC input. A USB-C port may be more convenient for a router designed to accept USB-C power, but USB-C alone does not guarantee the right voltage, power level, or charging protocol.
This power bank lists a 65W USB-C PD port, an 18W USB port, and a 12W USB port in addition to its AC outlet. Those figures help identify available outputs, but the published information does not specify every supported USB-C voltage or guarantee compatibility with networking equipment. Compare the router’s documented input with the power bank’s output details before connecting it.
Check backup behavior and intended setup
A portable power bank and a dedicated router UPS are not automatically equivalent. A UPS may be designed to switch between wall power and battery power when an outage occurs, while a general power bank may need you to connect or start it. The published product information does not describe automatic switchover or uninterrupted operation. If even a brief connection drop would disrupt work, ask the manufacturer about switchover behavior or choose a product whose documentation explicitly covers that use.
Also consider what else must stay online. A powered router cannot provide internet if a separate modem, fiber terminal, or other required network device loses power. List every device in your connection path, check each one’s input and draw, and confirm that the backup unit can power them together without exceeding its limits.
Weigh portability, recharging, and travel rules
The listing describes this unit as portable and states that its capacity is 98Wh. It also claims the power bank can recharge through its USB-C input in 1.5 hours, but the published details do not specify the conditions or charger used for that figure. Confirm input requirements and the actual charging equipment needed before planning a quick recharge between outages.
The manufacturer listing says the unit is TSA compliant because it is below 100Wh. Airline and airport rules can vary, so check current requirements with your carrier before flying. The listing also names FCC, CE, and RoHS certifications and describes overcharge, over-voltage, over-current, and short-circuit protections. Those statements are product-listing claims; they do not establish router compatibility or backup runtime.
If your needs extend beyond a router and a few small devices, compare this type of unit with a portable power station for emergency backup. For a USB-C-powered setup, our guide to power banks with built-in cables covers a different convenience feature. You can also browse the wider Power Banks category for related buying guides.
How We Compared
This guide uses the published product listing details: stated capacity, outlet and port ratings, USB-C PD input and output, recharging claim, portability and travel statements, and named certifications and protections. No customer feedback or router-specific compatibility evidence was supplied. Because only one product was provided, the recommendation describes a possible use case rather than a comparative ranking across multiple models.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can this power bank run any Wi-Fi router?
No universal compatibility is established by the listing. Its AC outlet is specified for devices under 100W, but you still need to confirm the router’s adapter, plug, and power draw. A router that needs a different power source or exceeds the outlet limit may not be suitable.
How long could it keep a router online?
The published information does not provide a router runtime. The listed capacity is 98Wh, but actual operating time depends on the router’s power use and energy lost during conversion. Check the router’s documented draw and treat any calculation as an estimate rather than a guarantee.
Will my internet keep working if I power the router?
Only if every required part of the connection remains powered and the internet service itself remains available. If your setup uses a separate modem or fiber terminal, that device may also need backup power. Check the power needs of each device before deciding whether one unit is enough.
Does the AC outlet make this a router UPS?
Not based on the published information. The listing describes an AC outlet, but does not state that the unit automatically switches to battery power or keeps connected equipment running without interruption. Confirm that behavior with the manufacturer if automatic backup matters.
Can I power a router through the USB-C port?
Only if the router supports the USB-C output’s relevant power requirements. The product listing specifies USB-C PD up to 65W, but does not provide enough detail to establish compatibility with a particular router. Check both products’ documentation for voltage, power, and connector requirements.
Is the power bank suitable for air travel?
The listing states a 98Wh capacity and claims TSA compliance. Airline policies can change and may differ, so verify current carry-on battery rules with your airline before traveling. Do not rely on the listing alone for a particular carrier’s requirements.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!